Book Reviews · Featured · Reviews · TBR Thursday

ARC Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Title: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Length: 368 pages

Synopsis:

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment WeeklyMy Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

This was my first ever Christina Lauren book, I know this is a kick-ass female writing duo, and I have heard amazing things about their books in the past. Unfortunately, this wasn’t a hit for me, there many issues that I had with it, and the main one is something that I could tell was going to happen almost immediately.

The book starts when the two main characters meet on a vacation in London, how they grew closer, and ultimately the events that drove them apart, all of this last for about the first 30% of the book. Then it time jumps 14 years in the future to where they reconnect and everything that comes with that. I felt that since a big chunk of the beginning of the book takes place in the past instead of the present, the pacing in the present was thrown off. This book honestly needed about 100 more pages to fully develop the story and have more realistic pacing.

I feel like not much happens in the middle of the book and then in about the last 30% of the book, I feel like so much was jammed into a small amount of page, Many of the main plot points happened within a few days, which didn’t feel natural, and led to a disconnect to the book with the reader.

After finishing the book I sadly realized I never grew to care for either of the main characters, Tate and Sam. I also didn’t care or understand their relationship, I didn’t feel any chemistry between them.

I was hoping that the ending would redeem some of the books for me, but I was disappointed, The ending was rushed because of the entire book’s pacing being thrown off, and I felt that the story ended up abruptly without much of a resolution, and was very unsatisfying.

Though I didn’t love this book at all, I have heard amazing things about these wonderful ladies, so I do plan on giving some of their books a chance in the future.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.